Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations

Seminar Details

10 May 2006

Open for Business
Henrik Isakson
May, 10, 2006
This comparative analysis studies the trade policies of the four major industrialized trading nations or blocs: the EU, the US, Canada and Japan. The four countries are also known as “the Quad”. Using more than 70, mostly quantitative, indicators, it compares the openness for imports in industrial and agricultural goods as well as in services. Also included are the horizontal issues of free trade agreements and trade preferences towards developing countries. No clear overall pattern can be found in the trade policies of the four countries. They all have their strengths and weaknesses, with some open doors and some closed.
Click to download the paper


  • 12 Dec
    Webinar on Regional Connectivity"

    Register here

  • 28 Sep
    Vacancy: Expert (Power Sector)"

    Apply here

  • 11 Mar
    Vacancy: Senior Research Fellow/Research Fellows/ Associates for its large Agri-programme"led by Dr. Ashok Gulati, Distinguished Professor, ICRIER Apply here"