Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations

Conferences & Workshops Details

15th annual neemrana conference

 15th Annual ICRIER-NBER-NCAER Conference 


 December 13-15, 2013

 Draft Program

Day 1: Friday, December 13, 2013
11.30 am Interaction with Raghuram Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India followed by lunch at 32, Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi
3.00 pm: Departure for Neemrana
6.30 pm – 7.30 pm Inaugural Session: India and the World Economy

Chair: N. K. Singh, Member of Parliament 


  • Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, India
  • Anne O. Krueger, Professor, John Hopkins University
  • Gita Gopinath, Professor, Harvard University
7.30 pm Kathak Dance Performance followed by Dinner Reception
Day 2: Saturday, December 14, 2013
9.30 am – 10.30 am Session1: Direct Benefit Transfers

Chair: Pramod Bhasin, Vice Chairman and former President and CEO, Genpact


  • Nandan Nilekani, Chairman, UIDAI
  • Karthik Muralidharan, Assistant Professor, University of California, San Diego
10.30 am Coffee Break
11.00 am – 12.30 pm Session 2: Liquidity and Recession

Chair: Subir Gokarn, Director of Research, Brookings India 


  • Oliver D. Hart, Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics, Harvard University
  • Jaimini Bhagwati, RBI Chair Professor, ICRIER
  • Atif Mian, Professor of Economics and Public Policy,Department of Economics and Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University
12.30 pm Lunch
1.30 pm – 2.45 pm Session 3: Gains from Trade

Chair: Shekhar Shah, Director General, NCAER


  • Arpita Mukherjee, Professor, ICRIER
  • Anwarul Hoda, Professor, ICRIER
  • Arnaud Costinot, Pentti J.K. Kourri Associate Professor, Department of Economics, MIT
  • Shang-Jin Wei, Professor of Finance and Economics, Professor of International Affairs, and N.T. Wang Professor of Chinese Business and Economy, Columbia University
2.45 pm Coffee Break
3.00 pm – 4.15 pm Session 4: Institutions, Manufacturing, Trade and Growth 

Chair: Rana Hasan, Principal Economist, India Resident Mission of ADB


  • Romain Wacziarg, Professor of Economics, UCLA
  • Nathan Nunn, Professor of Economics, Harvard University
  • Radhicka Kapoor, Consultant, ICRIER
  • Chetan Ghate, Associate Professor, Indian Statistical Institute
4.15 pm Coffee Break
4.30 pm – 5.30 pm Session 5: Urbanization, Competitiveness and Sustainability

Chair: Rajiv Lall, Executive Chairman, IDFC Ltd.


  • Isher Judge Ahluwalia, Chairperson, ICRIER
  • Jagan Shah, Director, National Institute of Urban Affairs
7.30 pm Rajasthani Dance Performance followed by Dinner Reception
Day 3: Sunday, December 15, 2013
10.30 am – 11.30 am Session 6: Social Policy in the U.S. and India 

Chair: Ashwini Deshpande, Professor, Delhi School of Economics 


  • Janet Currie, Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University
  • Jens Ludwig, McCormick Foundation Professor of Social Service Administration, Law, and Public Policy University of Chicago
  • Bruce Weinberg, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, Ohio State University
  • Tarun Jain, Assistant Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Indian School of Business


11.30 am – 1.00 pm Session 7: Technology, Innovation and Competitiveness

Chair: Rajat Kathuria, Director & CE, ICRIER


  • Hal Varian, Chief Economist, Google
  • Jaivir Singh, Associate Professor, JNU
1:00 pm
2.00 pm – 4.00 pm Panel Discussion: Youth, Democracy and Development 

Chair: Rajat Kathuria, Director & CE, ICRIER 


  • Anne Krueger, Professor, John Hopkins University
  • B. J. Panda, Member of Parliament
  • T. N. Ninan, Chairman, Business Standard Ltd
  • Surjit Bhalla, Chairman, Oxys Investments
  • Karthik Muralidharan, Assistant Professor, University of California, San Diego
5.30 pm: Departure for Delhi


  • 01 Jul
    Vacancy: Policy Communications Officer"Apply here"
  • 11 Mar
    Vacancy: 6 motivated researchers for its large Agri-programme"led by Dr. Ashok Gulati, Chair Professor Agriculture, ICRIER Apply here"